Assemblage !

getting serious.

First thing after getting the rear main seal installed is to secure the crank and the rear main bearing in the block. The manual shows this being done with the block upright, but I figured it would be a lot easier to do with the block on its side – timing side facing down. This way the crank could be dropped in and the rear main bearing pushed down into place. I propped up the block on some 4×4’s to accommodate the timing side of the crank which protrudes quite a bit from the case. It worked very well.

After the crank and rear main bearing were installed [with plenty of assembly lube!] I put it back on the bench which I lined with parchment paper – I’m trying hard not to let crap get into this motor!

From this angle it was a snap to install and torque down the rods. If you haven’t read the manual regarding which direction the rods should go – don’t bother, it confused me to pieces.  Guzziology explains it much better – face the flats and the oil ways towards the right hand cylinder. Done. New lockplates, plenty of assembly lube and I’m there.

The oil pump and oil pick up screen were installed at the same time – the share 2 bolts and I like to torque things down evenly, so that’s what I did. I’m really not following the manual for any sort of sequence, just doing what seems most logical. After that was taken care of, the oil pressure relief valve was secured.

And what do you know? That’s it for the bottom end. I put the sump on next so I could stand it upright.

So. Looks like at this point I put the oil pump gear on. I put zip ties through the small end of the rods so they wouldn’t bang around – I don’t remember where I saw this, but its a damn smart idea.

Bell housing side. I JB welded the cam plug. The oil lines are back. It was recomended to be this morning that a little anti-seize on the threads of the banjo bolt and a little yamabond on the sealing washers is a good idea to really seal the deal. Got to remember to do that.

Spent this morning cleaning bell housing stuff. The only thing that was really notable was the flywheel and the amount of accumulated junk in the depths of the teeth. Its hard to see at first, and I didn’t even notice it. I gave the whole bit a dose of WD-40 and went at it with a stiff wire brush, but even after that I then noticed the junk in the teeth. So I set off with a dental pick and cleaned each cavity.

~ by rajandhisguzzi on January 8, 2010.

Leave a comment