making sure it clears!




MOV02087

Originally uploaded by getonyourbikesandride

guzziology stresses making sure everything clears when fitting a non-stock cam. Wanted to not have to cross my fingers when I first fire this thing up, and having nothing better to do while in the depths of an Upstate NY winter – I set on making sure for sure.

I put the motor on it’s side on some 4x4s to protect the nose of the crank. Pulled the pan and had a gander. What I was really looking for is to make sure the cam didn’t run into any of the other reciprocating parts. I set up my camera because I thought it all looked neat, though the cam shaft is not really visible in the footage. Regardless, maybe some of you will enjoy this.

In all honesty, I didn’t like this angle to perform this check. Afterwards, I did pull each cylinder individually to verify the cam was free and clear from all obstructions. It was.

Next was to check the valves had enough clearance between themselves and the piston during their travels. Pull the heads, oil them and the cylinders and stick a wad of children’s modeling clay in the and bolt everything back together. Hand turn the crank a few revolutions and pull the heads again and have a little looksie.

Carefully popped off the clay mass and cut in in half to check the clearances [found in guzziology], all of which were fine. This did give me a nice perspective on the combustion chamber.


~ by rajandhisguzzi on January 30, 2010.

Leave a comment