Let’s see if I can remember how to do this.

I’ve got some catching up to do. I’ve been fiddling, a bit and a bit. Obviously I haven’t been able to find any time to update this old thing, I hope you haven’t lost your cool – I am.

The front main seal is a real bastard I tell you what. It’s the only seal I’ve encountered that is driven in backwards, which is a royal pain. Here’s my first attempt

…pretty, ain’t it? Best part is I didn’t have a spare. Never buggered a seal so bad before. So that pushed me back another week. Que the 2nd seal, which went in a bit better – but wait!

I broke my timing cover! The force of driving the seal from the back, cracked the cover and a small ring started to lift outwards. Another piece for the scrap pile. This might’ve been a month ago by now so I’m not positive, but I’m willing to bet I was pretty pissed. Luckily, once again Charles Mullendore of Antietam Classic Cycle came to the rescue (once again) and mailed me a new timing cover complete with installed front seal. Thanks Charlie!

So now the motor is pretty much complete, though apparently I have zero pictures of it. I’ll try and work on that – most likely I’ll forget though.

~ by rajandhisguzzi on April 2, 2010.

Leave a comment