Is it time?

Holy Cow.

It’s just about that time.

I started yesterday like this –

And ended the day here

The motor and trans haven’t seen the frame since September or October or something. Been quite a while I say. There was some time between that first and last picture here. I started about 9am and finished up around 6pm. Everything was fairly straight forward. What’s not evident in these pictures is that I took the time to lube all my cables, installed new choke and throttle lowers, regreased my splitter, new front brake cable, and new carb needles. What can account for the rest of the time was having a 12 and 8 year old *helping* my brother and myself out. Fun.

Actually, I don’t think we could’ve installed the motor without them. We placed a car jack (with a piece of wood about where we thought the motor needed to be. My brother and I wrestled the motor onto the jack and found it the operation needed to be moved forward in order to line up the front motor mount. I’m not the strongest nor the weakest guy around, I mean I did carry this motor up and down a flight of stairs by my self just fine – but I couldn’t life the motor inside the frame while squatting, just couldn’t. So while my brother and I lifted the motor my nephew repositioned the jack and my niece helped out by screaming “why does Ricker get to help?!” Couldn’t of done it without them.

2 road blocks were hit yesterday. We broke 1 bell housing stud when installing the trans, 1 removed it self, and 1 stripped. Luckily the hardware store down the street had them and we were back in business shortly there after.

The other road block, which didn’t really stop us, is that I have zero shift return. I want to chalk it up to my shift linkage fix, which was to install a spring pin in place of the clevis. The fit is so tight I think it’s overpowering the return spring. But I could be very wrong. The trans bench shifted and returned just okay when I first tested it, but I figured the o-ring Charlie installed for me was causing a bit of friction and that it would go away after the whole thing was put into operation. I may prove to be wrong and I will probably address this issue before riding her.

~ by rajandhisguzzi on April 25, 2010.

Leave a comment