sweet sweet guzzi guzzi time time

This godawful blog – it’s so hard to remember to update it! Nothing like making more homework for yourself. Big things have happened.

I went back a few days later to address the shift return issue. I disconnected the linkage from the trans and used some vice grips on the pre-selector shaft just to see if I had any return from there – I did. So, figured the root cause must be somewhere after that – which was great news, since I didn’t feel like doing anything inside the trans anymore. My linkage was binding a bit as it was, since I used an expandable sleeve to mate the pieces – which I thought could be too tight of a fit and adding to the shift return issue. So I drilled out all the junctions to 5/16″ and installed new clevis pins. Additionally, I needed to bend the one vertical piece a hair towards the pedal linkage so there wasn’t so much tension constantly on the whole system. All of these little adjustments got my shift return back.

Now on to what you really want to hear.

Friday, May 30th was a big day for this guy. I finished up all my duties as an undergraduate – AND I started my guzzi for the first time since something like August. Here’s Charlotte that afternoon:

Shortly here after, she started. I don’t think I even got one turn of the starter before she jumped to life – it was an amazing first minute when I realized that I did something right – then the next 9 minutes or so where somewhat torture, as I had to let her run and was terrified something was going to go wrong. But she sounded very strong, idled well (enough anyway), and then she started smoking like a BEAST. With 2 front garage doors open, and one rear – and with fans blowing on the cylinders (to keep them cool), the bike still smoked 3 people out of the garage. I’ll admit, I started to freak out a bit, but I continued to let her run for the full 10 minutes.

I was hazy. I arrived at my brother’s at 4ish that day. And yes, we hit the Jameson as soon as I got there. Remember, just graduated. So I wasn’t thinking very clearly by 9 o’clock or whenever it actually was that I had the bike running. So I didn’t think about the fact that I had oiled up the pistons and cylinders, nor that the bike was pack a day smoker when I tore her down. She had a lot of lung butter to cough up.

The next morning I went back to the garage, tied up the loose ends and prepared to ride home. After that initial start up, I retorqued the heads and set the valve lash again. I did change the oil after the first 10 minutes, but after looking at the oil it was a waste – still looked brand new. I’m only using Shell Rotella T 15w-40 if ya care. Only oil I’ve ever used.

Bike started right up again Saturday morning. My brother and I went to hit the trail, and the bike was just running so sweet right off the bat. I mean, carb’s were not adjusted at all – base setting on the mix screws and a dirty check of the sync. Anyway, still the bike just felt tighter. Everything was as I had hoped – and no funny noises!

We made it 5 miles or something before she started acting hungry or something. Pulled over and wiggle some things around – I think it was just a loose spark plug wire because we were back up and running in no time.

The next 15 or so miles went without a hitch. Made it home.

That was one week ago. I’ve since put 150 miles on her [coinciding with 5 heat/cool cycles] to hit my first service. I’ve had no troubles at all, except as a result of some haphazard impromptu carb tuning [never a good idea]. Carb’s are off right now, it’s raining today so that’s on my agenda along with lots of coffee (love the weekends). Just going to give them a once over and a good cleaning. No adjustments yet. I did recently order some new jets; both up and down on the mains and pilot, just to start experimenting in the near future – curious if the b-10 will run better with different sizes. Currently, I have 45 pilots and 145 mains – I’m at 200′ or so.

Break in procedure that I’m following is sort of a mish mash of theories. Well, first the intervals and such came directly from Charlie – 10 minutes, 150 miles {and 5 heat/cool cycles], 500, 1000 and 1500 miles. At these intervals, it’s an oil change, retorque the heads and set the valve lash. I’ve got to admit, that during my first 150 miles – I checked the valve gap before every ride. It’s an easy check that gave me piece of mind. Also, I’m constantly checking everything thing all the time, looking for small leaks, or loose wires or anything. I love the mantra “whatever is wrong was the last thing you were screwing with” – which still holds very true, except the last thing I was screwing with was EVERYTHING. So I check everything, or try to.

As far as running, I’m doing my best to always be loading or unloading the motor – trying hard to avoid idling and cruising. That includes running stop signs and red lights, or making a series of right hand turns instead of trying to make a left. I definitely am not babying the motor. There’s no whacking of the throttle either, I probably haven’t ventured past 1/3 throttle – instead I’m letting the gears run high and then engine breaking back down. Rev up, coast down. I haven’t held a constant speed for more than 10 seconds unless it’s a long uphill. This procedure is a little nauseating, and can be annoying to other drivers – especially when they’re behind you.

~ by rajandhisguzzi on May 8, 2010.

Leave a comment